All VPNs are chosen by the expert, but we may get a commission when you buy them via our links.

5 Paid + 5 Free VPN Services That Work in Algeria

Last updated: August 7, 2020 By Dean Chester

In the country where access to the Internet is blocked even during school exams, a reliable VPN is a must-have tool.

VPN for algeriaI’ve conducted serious research and carried out numerous tests to find the best VPNs for Algeria namely. The apps I recommend in this article work on any platform to say nothing of routers and smart TVs, etc.

Here, I address the following topics:

 
Top 5 VPN apps for Algeria
  1. ExpressVPN: Best VPN for Algeria with 24/7 customer support and robust encryption!
  2. NordVPN: Amazing VPN provider with strong encryption and secure protocols!
  3. Surfshark: Speedy and reliable VPN service for Algeria, its main advantage is an unlimited number of connections!
  4. CyberGhost VPN: Worthy VPN offering 256-bit encryption and a wide range of servers!
  5. Private Internet Access: Top-notch VPN provider with premium VPN bandwidth and instant activation!
 
5 best free VPNs for Algeria
  1. ProtonVPN: Its free plan offers traffic without limits and flash-like servers.
  2. Windscribe: It offers a free plan you may use without time limits. But not all functions are available.
  3. hide.me: A useful VPN tool with 10GB of monthly traffic and reliable protection.
  4. Hotspot Shield: Its free plan provides a secure connection with speed and traffic restrictions.
  5. TunnelBear: An attractive app with a free plan for users who are not going to stream.

Recommendation: I would advise you to show preference to the paid apps. They are faster and offer more functions (and more servers). In case you cannot pay right now, it’s possible to make use of a VPN free trial period.


Online restrictions and censorship in Algeria

Algeria does not overtly censor the use of the Internet. However, it controls it through other ways which are as harsh as total censorship.

The government demands that all Internet Service Providers (ISPs) across the country are responsible for all the content that all the websites they serve display.

It is the ISPs that conduct surveillance on all the content that you access or write on the Internet. At times, the government gets accused of watching after journalists who claim that emails can take up to two days to be received.

For many people, this is a clear indication that there is a need to look out for a good VPN for use in Algeria.

Apps blocked in Algeria during school examsTroubles with internet access in Algeria: facts and figures

Numerous websites and services undergo blocking in Algeria from time to time. Here are some examples:

  • June 16, 2019. The state provider in Algeria has blocked access to the following social media platforms and VoIP apps: Facebook, Instagram, Line, LinkedIn, Odnoklassniki, Pinterest, Skype, Telegram, Tinder, Twitter, Tumblr, Viber, VKontakte, WhatsApp. The services were unavailable for 5 days.
  • August 8, 2019. Popular video service YouTube, Google Play Store, Google Hangouts, and Google Translate were blacklisted because of political reasons.
  • September 14, 2019. The world wide web was unavailable for 2 days in the country.

For these and many other reasons, it’s better to subscribe to one of the best VPNs for Algeria. Let’s have a look at the main features of the apps.

Comparison of VPN services for Algeria

Service Ranking (out of 10) Stealth level
(out of 10)
Speed, Mbps Country selection Number of servers Price (monthly)
ExpressVPN 10 9 >100 94 3000+ $6.67-12.95
NordVPN 10 10 >60 59 5400+ $3.49-11.95
Surfshark 10 10 >50 63 1700+ $1.99-11.95
CyberGhost 9 9 40-70 90 6000+ $2.75-12.99
PIA 9 10 >50 45 3300+ $2.85-9.95

The best VPN in Algeria: what to choose?

Without deep knowledge in cybersecurity and scrupulous testing, it would be an uphill struggle for you to find the best VPN for you in Algeria.

However, here I am to help you.

I’ve conducted serious research and share my finding with you in this article. Here you’ll find the list of 5 best VPN service to use in this African country.


ExpressVPNExpressVPN

Main advantages

  • Fast servers
  • No-logs
  • 160 locations
  • Zero-knowledge DNS

Overview

This VPN provider is the best in all respects. Apart from 3000+ servers in 94 countries around the world, it offers numerous useful features:

  • Split tunneling for routing only some of your apps through a secure VPN tunnel.
  • Kill Switch to protect your traffic in case a secure connection is lost.
  • Diskless servers to make your browsing history 100% anonymous.
  • 5 connections per account to protect all your gadgets.

Price

ExpressVPN plans and prices

  1 month 6 months 1 year
Price (monthly) $12.95 $9.99 $6.67
Money-back guarantee 30 30 30

Conclusion

  • No leaks are observed after numerous tests on different servers.
  • Perfect unblocking of the best streaming services.
ExpressVPN Preview
Save up to 35% by subscribing to ExpressVPN now

NordVPNNordVPN

Main advantage

  • Plans with different duration
  • Extensions for browsers
  • 7-day trial
  • 5400+ servers

Overview

NordVPN is the second app I recommend for Algeria. It provides its subscribers with the assurance that no one can monitor you when your VPN app is on.

It offers reliable protection thanks to Onion over VPN, P2P support, CyberSec, automatic kill switch, zero-logs policy.

Price

NordVPN plans and prices

  1 month 6 months 1 year 3 years
Price (monthly) $11.95 $6.99 $4.99 $3.49
Money-back guarantee 30 30 30 30

Conclusion

  • Fast servers located in 59 countries of the world
  • Protection of 6 devices per account
NordVPN Preview
Change your IP twice for 100% protection

SurfsharkSurfshark

Main advantages

  • Unlimited connections
  • Kill switch
  • Lowest possible price
  • The BVI jurisdiction
 

Overview

Another VPN that is a good suit for Algeria is Surfshark. Its servers are located in 63 countries so that it’s always possible to find the nearest server for the minimal speed drop.

Besides, it copes quite well with geo-blocking bypassing. It unblocks the US Netflix, Hulu, BBC iPlayer, and other services that are restricted in some regions around the world.

Price

Surfshark plans and prices

  1 month 1 year 2 years
Price (monthly) $11.95 $5.99 $1.99
Money-back guarantee 30 30 30

Conclusion

  • Thanks to multiplatform compatibility, it can be used on all OSs
  • The function of Camouflage Mode guarantees no leaks
Surfshark Preview
Kill switch, Whitelister, and CleanWeb by Surfshark

Read more:

  • Low cost
  • NoSpy servers
  • 24/7 support
  • 90+ countries

Overview

Not only its server park is growing (as for now, it has 6300+ servers) but the developers work on the improvement of the app all the time.

Thus, now you can make use of its special servers designed for torrenting and streaming. The speed is really good. No buffering was noticed.

Price

CyberGhost VPN plans and prices

  1 month 1 year 2 years 3 years
Price (monthly) $12.99 $5.99 $3.69 $2.75
Money-back guarantee 45 45 45 45

Conclusion

  • User-friendly app with the function to add servers to the list of ‘Favorites’ is great
  • It unblocks Twitter, Instagram, and other services

Read more:


PIAPIA

Main advantages

  • 10 simultaneous connections
  • Instant setup
  • No logs
  • Fast-speed servers

Overview

Although PIA isn’t the best VPN app for Hulu and Netflix, it can easily unblock social media sites and VoIP apps in Algeria.

It has tons of settings so you can configure the app for your needs.

Price

PIA plans and prices

  1 month 6 months 1 year
Price (monthly) $9.95 $5.99 $2.85
Money-back guarantee 7 7 7

Conclusion

  • It counts 2600+ servers and its number is constantly growing
  • It’s rather easy to use this VPN even if you are not a tech-savvy person

Read more:


Free VPN providers for Qatar

I understand that not everyone can afford to pay for apps. Thus, I’ve collected the list of free VPN services that might be used in Algeria.

All of them can be used lifelong. They all are offered as free plans of premium paid services.

Warning: As a rule, free plans do their best to make users switch to a paid package. Free VPNs are restricted in features, servers, speed, and bandwidth, as a rule.

ProtonVPN logo Free ProtonVPN

ProtonVPN is a premium VPN that allows us to use its services free of charge for as long as one likes. It’s ranked #1 because of no traffic restrictions.

Besides, its servers are suitable for unblocking torrent sites and download torrents at a good speed.

Windscribe logo Free Windscribe

Windscribe is another outstanding security provider with a free package.

Although you can use the services without payment on a permanent basis, your protection will be over when you reach a 10GB traffic limit (per month).

Hide.me logo Free Hide.me VPN

In line with the paid Hide.me plan with 1800+ servers in 72 countries and 10 simultaneous connections per account, the provider offers its free option.

Among the restrictions you’ll find 10GB/mo traffic limit, servers in 5 locations, and 1 allowed connection. Quite good a free package.

Hotspot Shield logo Free HotspotShield VPN

This VPN app is a good choice if you are not going to stream Netflix 24/7 or download torrents.

However, it’s a good variant if you want to unblock some news sites and share photos on social media because its daily traffic limit is 500MB.

TunnelBear logo Free TunnelBear

The last VPN I can recommend is TunnelBear. It’s really reliable and doesn’t restrict its users in servers.

Nevertheless, its monthly traffic limit is only 500MB. Of course, you can get 1GB more be Tweeting about the service. But it’s not enough for 1-month use.


FAQ

🥇 Why are you safe with the best VPN for Algeria?

The government is not the only third party that can spy on you in Algeria. Cyber hackers and snoopers look for the victims on the Internet. A reliable VPN makes users’ internet activities defended against virtual interference.

A VPN creates a secure tunnel to transfer the data from you to the endpoint. Your personal information is protected by VPN protocols so that those cybercriminals won’t be able to crack and steal the information about you.

Are VPNs legal in Algeria?

In Algeria Internet Service Providers are obliged to control the network and even block some online content. Still, VPN services are not banned there. So it is possible to make use of VPN in Algeria.

📄 What’s better: a free VPN for Algeria or a paid VPN for Algeria?

To get a better idea of the difference between paid and free services, I’d like to present to you a comparison chart below.

Free VPN for Algeria Paid VPN for Algeria
Limited choice of server locations Lots of server locations
Can have strong encryption protocols, but still, this question needs a detailed consideration Provides the strongest protocols usage and even their choice
No professional support 24/7 support and friendly app
Restricted bandwidth and speed Unlimited bandwidth and fast-speed servers
Not all security functions are available, which reduces users’ security level A higher level of anonymity because of advanced security features
A free VPN for Algeria can keep your logging for further usage + bonus a paid VPN for Algeria can have a trial version so that you can try it before subscribing to the service. The best VPN for Algeria provides you with a money-back guarantee.

So, you can see that the best VPN for Algeria should absolutely match your needs and if you are looking for a qualitative VPN for Algeria, you need privacy, security, and anonymity while networking, which can be absolutely achieved with the help of the best, paid VPN for Algeria.

Read also:

VPN-Review - Chief Editor
Dean Chester
Cybersecurity and online privacy expert and researcher. He's been published on OpenVPN, EC-Council Blog, DevSecOps, AT-T Business, SAP Community, etc. Dean has been testing VPNs for 8 years.

Write a review

click to select

5 user reviews for 5 Paid + 5 Free VPN Services That Work in Algeria

I don’t agree with some of

I don’t agree with some of your arguments against free VPN: ‘’ a free VPN for Algeria has limited choice of server locations;’’ I believe that it’s too subjective. One may use free VPN only for a few sites and there is no need to pay money for numerous server locations that you don’t need actually. ‘’a free VPN for Algeria can have a strong encryption protocols, but still this question needs a detailed consideration;’’ I saw a lot of popular free vpn apps that pass the data through OpenVPN, and there are paid vpns that apply PPTP as well. ‘’a free VPN for Algeria can keep your logging for further usage’’ even VPN providers of paid VPNs keep logs, for instance, VyprVPN, which is ranked here, collects the users’ data.

Hi, hope you’ll help me in my

Hi, hope you’ll help me in my issue. Here’s the problem I have with playing online games in my country. I’m from Algeria. I was playing online games and noticed that voice chat is not available for my country, so I can’t hear what other gamers say. I feel so disappointed? Because I the game is not free, I paid money for it. They say I need a VPN or proxy to fake geo-location from another country. Unfortunately, I tried one of the VPN (Tunnnelbear), but I failed to connect to any server, don/t know why... I play with a guy who lives in Saudi Arabia and everything works well, even without a VPN. I thought to ask my ISP for help, but I believe it’s useless as it’s a third party. What can I do in this situation? What VPN to try (I need the one that really works for Algeria?

Dean Chester's picture
Abdul, thanks for asking. I

Abdul, thanks for asking. I scanned some similar reddit discussions and some article on the network on the issue and other users say that in Algeria TunnelBear isn’t blocked, try to check you NAT type and set ‘’open’’. Besides, you can try the leader of the rating above ExpressVPN, it has about 100 VPN locations 1000+ servers.

I was looking for the rating

I was looking for the rating with some good VPNs while I was in Algeria. Why does Express take the first place? It’s so expensive? I believe the price is the most essential feature. VPN should be affordable…

Dean Chester's picture
Douglas, we rank VPN services

Douglas, we rank VPN services not only for their prices, but also for the features offered by the provider and reliability. ExpressVPN is a reliable trusted VPN provider that has thousands of VPN services around the world, constantly developing new additional security and privacy tools that can be used by the customers of ExpressVPN. This VPN is really more expensive than others, but it’s worth trying.